The Morning After

I woke up this morning wrapped up in the lingering dreams from last night along with a groggy sense something was wrong in the world. In my world. Filling my lungs with the crisp, cool air I shook the cobwebs from my brain and let everything settle into place. Unfortunately, in tumbled all the memories from the news. The Texas church. Another senseless killing, which may or may not have been preventable.

There is so much denial about mental health issues particularly by families touched by it. They want to ‘protect’ their loved one and never seem to think about those he or she may hurt. It’s okay to sweep it under the rug and pretend it’s not there. The man whose name I will not repeat had a history of violence against his wife and child. His family knew. For whatever reason it appears he didn’t get help. Maybe they did try, I don’t know and I won’t sit in judgement. But people are dead. Again.

This morning after feeling is starting to become all too familiar, making it even harder to stomach. I can’t change the world but I can say a prayer and ask others to join me. Let’s stop the madness. Please. One prayer at a time. One kindness at a time. One less denial at a time.

Leave a Reply

