Just a little thing

Okay, I’m not a fan of early mornings. Anyone who knows me must know that by now. I’ll get up and I’ll function but I don’t do it with a smile on my face and a song in my heart. I have to ease into it. You know, like plunking your big toe into cold water. Let’s not go crazy and jump right in. Besides, I need time for the coffee to kick in.

And early Monday mornings are a double shock to my system. But since the kiddo needs a ride to school, and I’m the ride, there’s really not much of a choice. Sure, he could have signed up for a later class, but if I’d suggested that, what kind of role model would I be? Seriously. I did consider it for a second or two, but I’m biting the bullet and putting myself out there with all of the other early morning drivers.

And its those drivers I’d like to talk to. Please, be more courteous. We all have some place to go. I realize you’re wrapped into your own world, which obviously revolves around you, but I’m also on a mission. I’m the first to let a car into traffic or to get over a lane if I can. Its a matter of common courtesy, after all. But when you slam through traffic, passing three other drivers to get in front of me at a school, just to slide over and double park. Oh come on. Seriously?

Courtesy. It’s just a little thing. It doesn’t cost money. It only takes a second. It means thinking of others and recognizing that their journey through this universe is important as well. I’m not even mentioning the rules of the road that you blatantly ignored. Nope. Just take that little moment and ask yourself, does it really matter if I’m first in line? If I’m one car ahead or behind. If I get the first piece of cake.  Or the last cup of coffee.

Let’s all make a pact to be a little better human today than we were yesterday. I know we can do it. I have faith in each and every one of us. Go forth, sprinkle joy and laughter, love and happiness. Blaze a trail of compassion and be someone’s fondest memory.

Leave a Reply

