Peeling an onion

Do you have mornings when you open your eyes wide full of anticipation and excitement only to have the joy sucked from your soul as soon as you begin to engage in any type of social media? I do. There I am living in the ivory tower of peace and joy that I’ve designed and someone posts something mean and hurtful towards another human being.

It jerks on my soul strings, tugging and pulling me in directions I do not want to go. I can’t unsee it, not when it’s been emblazoned upon my eyeballs. So what’s a girl to do? Ignore it? Perhaps. Engage in an argument that nobody is going to win? Not the best choice. I can only tell you what do, because let’s face it, I can’t speak for the rest of the world.

Peeling back the layers of the onion, I try to find something good. Yeah, sometimes it stinks and my eyes swell up with tears but I know that if I season the onion just right – love, joy and compassion are my seasonings of choice – then it will be more palatable. Heck, sprinkle just the right combination and you might not even know it’s an onion, breaking it down and letting it take on a different flavor.

I’ve got the feeling today is one of those onion peeling days and there will be many more ahead. With the world spinning and spiraling in a myriad of directions I’m not keeping love, joy and compassion close to my heart. I’m sharing it when I see a need. Sprinkle your corner of the universe with love, joy, and compassion, too. Together, we’ll make a difference.

Leave a Reply

