What does it cost to listen?

Let me start by saying, I don’t often wax political, so please forgive me if I do for a moment. Don’t worry, it’s not what you’ll expect to hear. This weekend has left my soul cocooned in a permanent shell of sadness. Things have been done that can never be undone and as the world protests the actions I see humans – American humans at least – becoming more encased in their own prejudices. Yes. I said the word.

What sadness me is that I see it on all sides. “I’m right and you’re wrong and no, I don’t want to hear anything you have to say.” How can a society evolve if we don’t have dialogue? If we won’t listen when others speak? It makes my soul weep. And I have friends like this. They will not entertain an idea that conflicts with theirs. Yet they want others to consider their view. The irony of them becoming the very thing they protest doesn’t escape me. I wonder sometimes if they can see it.

No, I will not tell you what side of the issue I stand on. For now I’m Switzerland. I’m neutral. I’m on the side of kindness and courtesy. Of every life having a purpose to be cherished. On the side of hope and compassion. Maybe one day there will be a political party with that as their platform. Until then, I’ll stand in the field, a singular stalk unswayed by the wind, trying to do the right thing, one day at a time. Being the best human I can be today. What about you?

Leave a Reply

